24 teams to compete in CBN football tournament

24 teams to compete in CBN football tournament

The 32nd edition of the CBN All Financial Institutions Football Competition (AFIFC) will kick off on Monday, October 8.

The preliminary matches will be played in four zones as 24 teams jostle for the star prize of N2 million. The four zones will be in Abakaliki, Ado-Ekiti, Asaba and Lafia.

The quarter-final matches are billed to hold at the same venues on October 13 while the semi-finals have been scheduled for Ilorin on October 16.

The final of the competition will be decided at the Lekan Salami Stadium, Ibadan, Oyo, on October 20.

In a statement made available to TheCable, Isaac Okoroafor, director, CBN corporate communication, said: “The sponsored football event serves as a platform for the promotion of unity, harmony and peaceful co-existence among key players in Nigeria’s financial system.

“We therefore urge all the teams that are registered to participate actively and exhibit an unrelenting spirit of sportsmanship.

“Meanwhile, the CBN remains committed to making positive contributions to the promotion and development of the game of football by sponsoring the competition annually, which is in line with the Bank’s corporate social responsibility.”

The runners-up will go home with N1.5 million, the bronze medal winners will earn N1 million while the fourth-placed team will take N500,000.