Gajabiamila elected house of reps speaker

Gajabiamila elected house of reps speaker

Honourable Femi Gbajabiamila, the lawmaker representing Surulere 1 constituency was on Tuesday elected Speaker of the House of Representatives for the Ninth Assembly.

The Lagos state lawmaker defeated his closest rival, Mohammed Bago also of the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC), by polling 281 votes against his opponent’s 76 votes.

A total of 358 lawmakers voted, with one invalid vote.

Gbajabiamila was first elected into the lower house in 2003 on the platform of the defunct Action Congress of Nigeria.

He was the majority leader in the 8th house.

Leave a Comment