Another Senator defects to APC

Chidi Samuel || The number of All Progressives Congress Senators in the senate rose from 65 to 66 Tuesday following the defection of Senator Ovie Omo-Agege, representing Delta Central Senatorial District, from the Labour Party (LP) to the ruling Party.

The defection of the former Labour Party senator was announced by President of the Senate, Dr Bukola Saraki at plenary of the senate.

Citing Order 43 of the Senate Standing Orders 2011 (as amended) to support his defection, Omo-Agege stated that the lingering crisis in the Labour Party has left him with no other option than to decamp.

Part of his letter read, “The President, my decision to leave the Labour Party for APC is supported by the leaders and constituents of my senatorial district.

See also  Muhammadu Sanusi speaks out after return to throne

“This is considering the troubling fact of the division within the national leadership of the party.

“Therefore, may I kindly inform all here of this formal decision in this plenary.

“While I assure you of my highest esteem, be further assured of my total commitment to the legislative agenda of this 8th Senate under your leadership and support for the APC government.”

Responding to Omo-Agege’s letter, the Senate President ruled that, “based on the rules of the Senate, there cannot be further debate on the matter since the senator brought his notification to the Chamber via Order 43’’.