Buhari nominates eight new Supreme Court Justices

Ebun Francis| President Muhammadu Buhari on Tuesday asked the Senate to approve the appointment of eight new Supreme Court justices.

President Buhari’s request was contained in a letter read by Senate President Ahmad Lawan, at plenary.

According to the President, the appointment was based on the recommendations of the National Judicial Council, and “in pursuant to Section 231 (2) of the 1999 Constitution as amended and upon the advice of the National Judicial Council according to their ranking and seniority in the Court of Appeal.”

The nominees are, Lawal Garba, (North West), Helen Ogunwumiju (South West), Abdu Aboki (North West), and M M Saulawa (North West).

Others are, Adamu Jauro (North East), Samuel Oseji (Souty South), Tijani Abubakar (North East), and Emmanuel Agim (South South)

Also on Tuesday, the President sought the Senate approval for the appointment of non-career ambassadors designate.

See also  Judge caught trying to steal money from frozen bank account of petitioner

They are Muhammad Manta (Niger) and Yesufu Yunusa (Yobe) are to replace Air Commodore Peter Gana (retd.) and Alhaji Yusuf Muhammad who was earlier nominated to the Senate for confirmation.

Leave a Reply