COVID-19: FG add Emirates to the list of barred airlines

Ebun Francis| The Federal Government on Friday announced that Emirates Airlines has been included in the list of airlines not allowed to operate in Nigeria as part of measures to curb the spread of coronavirus in the country.

Nigeria’s aviation minister, Hadi Sirika, who made the disclosure via his Twitter handle on Friday said the decision was taken after a meeting between members of the Presidential Task Force on COVID-19 and European Union ambassadors.

He said the ban would take effect from Monday, September 21, 2020.

“The PTF sub-committee met today with EU Ambassadors to discuss Lufthansa, Air France/KLM ban. The meeting progressed well. Emirates Airlines’s situation was reviewed & they are consequently included in the list of those not approved, with effect from Monday the 21st September 2020,” he tweeted.

The Federal Government had on September 5 okayed the resumption of international flights in the country and subsequently released the list of nine airlines granted approval to commence operations.

The government, however, said that Air France, KLM, Etihad, RwandAir, Air Namibia, Royal Air Maroc, Lufthansa, TAAG Angola Airlines were denied approval to commence flight operations.

The minister, however, did not state the reason for including Emirate Airlines in the list of barred airlines in his tweet.

Leave a Reply