Video: Gunshots in Imo assembly as Speaker removes chief whip, suspends six members

Law and order broke down on Thursday at the Imo State House of Assembly as sporadic gunshots were fired following the suspension of six lawmakers by the Speaker, Paul Emeziem.

The members who were suspended over alleged unparliamentary conduct, include, former Majority Leader and member representing Ikeduru state constituency, Uche Ogbuagu; member representing Obowo state constituency, Kennedy Ibe and member representing Oru West, Dominic Ezerioha.

Others are, members representing Ezinihitte Mbaise state constituency, Anyadike Nwosu; member representing Owerri North Philip Ejiogu, and the member representing Ihite Uboma, Onyemechi Njoku.

The House also removed the Chief Whip, Authur Egwim, (Ideato North, APC), and replaced him with Obinna Okwara (Nkwerre, APC).

The suspended members include four All Progressives Congress (APC) lawmakers and two from the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP).

Details to follow…

Leave a Reply