INEC declares APC’s Gboyega Oyetola winner of Osun guber poll

Ebun Francis||

Gboyega Oyetola, the candidate of the All Progressive Congress was on Thursday declared the winner of the Osun State governorship election by the Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC.

Mr. Oyetola was returned as governor-elect at the end of a supplementary election which held in seven polling units across four local governments.

Joseph Fuwape, returning officer of the election, declared the APC candidate the winner of the election.

At the end Thursday’s votes, the APC candidate scored a total of 255,505 votes while the PDP candidate scored a total of 255,023 votes.

Although Mr. Adeleke had led his APC rival with 353 votes at the end of the first round of ballots last Saturday, the table turned the other way after the supplementary votes on Thursday with the APC candidate overtaking and beating the PDP candidate with a total margin of 482 votes.

The APC candidate, Oyetola won six of the seven units amidst allegations of harassment and other forms malpractices.

Besides leading in the number of votes cast, the APC also led in the number of local governments won, winning a total of 16 local governments as against 11 won by the PDP. The SDP won two while the ADP won one.

INEC scheduled the rerun after declaring the Saturday election inconclusive, saying the margin of votes was less than the number of cancelled votes in seven polling units.