INEC Deregisters 74 Political Parties

Yusuf Bello| The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) 0n Thursday deregistered seventy-four political parties.

INEC chairman, Professor Mahmood Yakubu, who made the disclosure while briefing newsmen in Abuja, said commission carried out a review of the performance of political parties after the 2019 general elections to see which parties qualify to exists.

The development means that only eighteen political parties survived the deregistration process.

The eighteen surviving political parties include:

Accord (A)

Action Alliance (AA)

African Action Congress (AAC)

African Democratic Congress (ADC)

Action Democratic Party (ADP)

All Progressives Congress (APC)

All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA)

Allied People’s Movement (APM)

Action People’s Party (APP)

Boot Party (BP)

Labour Party (LP)

New Nigeria Peoples Party (NNPP)

National Rescue Movement (NRM)

Peoples Democratic Party (PDP)

Peoples Redemption Party (PRP)

Social Democratic Party (SDP)

Young Progressive Party (YPP)

Zenith Labour Party (ZLP)

Meanwhile, the Commission has fixed September 19th, 2020 for the governorship election in Edo and October 10th, 2020 for the gubernatorial Ondo state.

Leave a Reply