Okorocha sacks all commissioners, LGA caretaker chairmen

Imo state Governor, Owelle Rochas Okorocha has dissolved the state executive council and sacked all the 27 caretaker committee chairmen for all the local government areas.

Okorocha’s decision was contained in a statement released Tuesday by the principal secretary to the governor Mr. Pascal Obi.

The statement while appreciating the invaluable contributions of the affected appointees to the success recorded by his “rescue mission” administration, however, directed them to hand over to the permanent secretaries in their respective ministries.

According to him, the secretary to the government, the chief of staff, chairmen and members of statutory commissions such as ISEC, Civil Service Commission, local government service commission were not affected.

“Also not affected in the cabinet shake-up are the state universal basic education board, the judicial service commission, and the house of assembly service commission,” the statement read.

“The governor also dissolved the 27 transition committees (TC) of the 27 local government areas in the state.

“The transition committee (TC) chairmen are advised to hand over to the directors of administration and general services of their respective council areas.

“The governor appreciates the contributions of the TC chairmen to the success of the rescue mission and wishes them well in their future endeavours.”