‘Osinbajo opted out of APC campaign council because of Muslim-Muslim ticket’

By our reporter| The spokesperson of the Atiku Abubakar presidential campaign, Daniel Bwala on Saturday said Vice-President Yemi Osinbajo and Boss Mustapha, secretary to the government of the federation (SGF), rejected the invitation to serve on the APC presidential council because of the Muslim-Muslim ticket of the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC).

Bwala, who made the comment in reaction to the exclusion of Osinbajo and Mustapha from the campaign council via a tweet on his handle, praised the vice president and the AGF for the courage to ask to be exempted from the campaign council.

“We salute the courage of Professor Osinbajo and Boss Mustapha for rejecting the MM ticket by asking to be left out of the campaign council of APC. Say no to religious politics. Nigerians would decide at the polls,” he tweeted.

However, following Bwala’s allegation, Festus Keyamo, spokesperson of the Tinubu campaign council, released a statement to clarify the situation.

According to Keyamo, President Muhammadu Buhari requested the vice president’s exclusion to allow him “concentrate on governance of the country and administration of government”.

“Our attention has been drawn to some stories making the rounds that there may be something amiss within the family of the All Progressives Congress (APC) as the name of our own revered and respected Vice-President, Professor Yemi Osinbajo, SAN, GCON, is not included in the list of the Tinubu/Shettima Presidential Campaign Council,” he said.

See also  2023: CBN won’t be used to frustrate elections, Emefiele assures INEC

“As a responsible party and government, all the key functionaries of government cannot abandon their positions for electioneering campaigns. The APC has the mandate of the Nigerian people to administer the country on their behalf at least till May 29, 2023, and this we intend to do with all sense of responsibility.”

The ruling party on Friday released the final list of its Presidential Campaign Council (PCC) with 31 Directorates and President Muhammadu Buhari as the Chairman and the Presidential standard bearer as the Deputy. The National Chairman of the party, Senator Abdullahi Adamu is the Deputy Chairman (2), and Kasheem Shettima, the Vice-Presidential candidate as Vice Chairman.

Plateau State Governor, Simon Lalong still retained his position as the Director General of the campaign while former governor of Edo State, Adams Oshinomhole is the Deputy Director General (Operations), and Hadiza Bala Usman as Deputy Director General (Admin). James Faleke is Secretary while Christopher Tarka is the Deputy Secretary.

See also  We are compelled to work with MC Oluomo-led parks committee, says INEC

Atiku Bagudu according to the list of 422 is the Vice Chairman and Kebbi State Coordinator just like all Governors in the party are their various state coordinators. Bayo Onanuga retained Director of Media and Publicity, Alhaji Ali M. Ali as his Deputy, Felix Morka as Co. Deputy Director, and Ibim Semenitari as the Secretary.

Mohammed Idris heads the Strategic Communications Directorate with Danladi Bako as Co Director, Lanre Issa Onilu as Deputy Director, and Dilli Ezuaha as Secretary. Minister of State Labour and Employment, Festus Keyamo heads the Public Affairs Directorate as Spokesperson while Aminu Sani Jaji heads the Contact and Mobilisation Directorate.

Former Aviation Minister, Femi Fani Kayode heads the New Media Directorate with Bashir Ahmed as Deputy while Seun Olufemi White is the secretary.

Senator Godswill Akpabio made the list as the Vice Chairman (South-south) and Uju Kennedy is the Vice Chairman (South-east).

The Governor of Jigawa State, Abubakar Badaru is the Regional Coordinator for North, while Abubakar Kyari is the Deputy Regional Coordinator, North.

The governor of Ebonyi State, David Umahi is the Regional Coordinator for South and Chief Emma Eneukwu was appointed as his Deputy.

Leave a Reply