Rivers Assembley speaker resigns

The Speaker of the Rivers State House of Assembly, Adams Dabotorudima,resigned from his  position on Friday.

Dabotorudima has since been replaced by a member representing Andoni Constituency in the Assembly, Ikuinyi-Owaji Ibani.

Ibani was the speaker until the Court of Appeal nullified his election into the House last year and he consequently resigned from the seat.

He was re-elected in the December 10 legislative rerun elections in the state.

Dabotorudima resigned shortly after administering oath of office on those declared winners of the rerun poll by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).

Those sworn-in included; Hon. Farah Dagogo, (PDP), Degema Constituency; Hon. Adonye Diri (PDP), Opobo/Nkoro Constituency; Hon. Victoria Nyeche (APC), Port Harcourt Constituency 1, Rt Hon. Ikuinyi-Owaji Ibani (PDP), Andoni Constituency; Hon. Granville Tekenari Wellington (PDP), Asari-Toru Constituency 1; Hon. Enemi Alabo-George, (PDP), Asari-Toru Constituency II and Hon Abinye Blessing Pepple (PDP), Bonny Constituency.

See also  Amaewhule-led assembly bars Fubara from spending govt funds

Others included Hon. Mathew Dike (APC), Tai Constituency; Hon. Josiah John Olu (APC), Eleme Constituency; Hon. Innocent Barikor (APC), Gokana Constituency; Hon. Friday Nubari Nke-ee (APC) Khana Constituency II and Hon. Azubuike Chikere Wanjoku (APC), representing Ikwerre Constituency.