28 additional resident permit centres opened by FG

In line with the federal Government effort to attract investment in the face of dwindling national resources, the Federal Government on Monday commissioned 28 additional centres for the production of Combined Expatriate Residence Permit and Aliens Card. The development is geared towards automating the operations of the Nigeria Immigration Service to facilitae the issuance of residence permits to expatriates residing and working in Nigeria.

Speaking at the event, the Minister of Interior, Lieutenant General Abdulrahman Dambazau (rtd) said that the new structure would ease the stress of doing business in Nigeria. According to him, with the exception of Bornu and Yobe, each of the thirty six sttes has a centre. Rivers State has two centres while Bornu and Yobe are exempted for now because of logistic reasons.

See also  Why pharmaceutical multinationals left Nigeria - PMG-MAN

The addition brings the number of residence permit centres to 37 across Nigeria.